The City: A spellbinding and captivating epic fantasy that will keep you on the edge of your seat (City 1) summary ↠ 8

characters Ö eBook, ePUB or Kindle PDF ´ Stella Gemmell

characters Ö eBook, ePUB or Kindle PDF ´ Stella Gemmell Perfect for fans of Game of Thrones Joe A spellbinding PDF #199 Abercrombie and Robin Hobb a stunningly imagined and thrilling epic fantasy from bestselling author The City Kindle Stella Gemmell One of the best fantasy novels Ive read in a long time and I read a lotutterly compellingan awesome example of City A spellbinding Kindle #212 the genre sf book reviewsAn astonishing book Easily the best fantasy novel Ive read in the last decade James BarclayVast immersive and accomplished City A spellbinding and captivating Kindl. This is Stella Gemmell's first book written entirely on her own and it is a good one There are a number of features that are similar to those that can be found in some of her late husband's books but also some differences and perhaps some problemsAs in David Gemmell's books this one is loosely built around history Although the plot is set in an entirely fictional world the City and the Empire around seemed to me at least to be largely derived from the City of Byzantium and the Byzantine Empire Several other themes and types of characters which are present in previous books are also usedOne theme is the decline and decay of a once great Empire that is ruled by the remnants of an alien race think of Echoes of the Great Song Similar character types include the old general past his prime and his glory who makes a final comeback to save the sum of things and several types of swordsman and swordswomen noble by their deeds and sometimes their origins Also included is the enduring and fiercely loyal giant here a northerner which made me think of Varangian warriors and the courtesan among othersThe plot and the characters are however also uite different and so is the book's tone I will not mention much about the plot to avoid spoilers and will just mention that the Empire is locked into an endless war with most of its neighbours a war that it is slowly losing which its Emperor who is called the Immortal is determined to win just like all of the previous wars Add to this is a whole atmosphere of treason intrigues and political assassinations and you get a rather powerful thrilling and action packed cocktail which you will have trouble in putting down until you have finished the last pageThe book's tone and ending are generally rather sombre and somewhat pessimistic The descriptions and sections about the City's underground life and environment are particularly horrific and griping The characters are often not what and who they seem to be Overall I very much enjoyed this book and spent most of the week end reading it non stop I do have a couple of reservations however with regards to the plot At times I found it unnecessarily complicated I also was not entirely convinced with some of the evil characters' regrets Unlike Echoes of the Great Song for instance the disasters that occurr in the book are entirely the responsibility of the City's rulers These appear as rather unsympathetic cruel and inhuman to put it mildly They are driven by their own ambitions and seem to cara little for what can happen to their subjectsI would certainly recommend this interesting book especially for Gemmell fans and I would rate it a solid four stars but not uite five

review The City: A spellbinding and captivating epic fantasy that will keep you on the edge of your seat (City 1)

The City: A spellbinding and captivating epic fantasy that will keep you on the edge of your seat (City 1) summary ↠ 8 ☆ [Ebook] ➢ The City: A spellbinding and captivating epic fantasy that will keep you on the edge of your seat (City 1) Author Stella Ge E INDEPENDENT ON SUNDAYWell defined superbly executedI found myself absolutely hooked Elouent pageGrips you from the first pageReader reviewThis ticked all the boxes for meReader reviewIt was such a great read she has very much her own style of writing and I loved itReader reviewTHEIR HOPES REST ON ONE MANBELIEVED TO BE DEAD The City ancient and vast has been waging almost constant war for centuries At its heart resides the Emperor Few have ever seen him Those who have remember a man in his prime who yet should be very ol. To deal with the elephant in the room if you are expecting something similar to the David Gemmel books don't There are echos of the style of the Troy series but this book is has it's own styleThe story is intreguing and the characters well balanced and believable It does reuire some effort to get into the story but it was an enjoyable experience and I downloaded the Immrtal Throne as soon as I finished

Stella Gemmell ´ 8 read

The City A spellbinding and captivating epic fantasy that will keep you on the edge of your seat City 1D Is he no longer human Indeed was he truly everA group of rebels have come to a desperate conclusion the only way to halt the Emperors thirst for war is to end his unnaturally long lifeFrom the crumbling catacombs beneath the City where the poor struggle to stay alive to the blood soaked fields of battle where so few heroes survive these rebels emerge Their hopes rest on one man A man who was once the Emperors foremost general betrayed imprisoned tortured and now believed to be deadThe story continues in The Immortal Thron. Loved the Troy trilogy she wrote with hubby hence I bought her two independent books to she how she wrote by herself but found The City a little hard to get into and as above a little stodgy plus was confused about the characters as they sort of blended into each other with similar namesWas about to give it up in the middle and read something else but went back into it after watching a few movies and tv shows and managed to finish it off and since I have bought both books will continue the story with the 2nd book but I don’t think I will be re reading the books anytime soon as I usually go back to my favourites if there is a series of books to re read in order and have done so with David Gemmell books which I have read in order they came out published date and found an online reading order so I can read them in story order as noticed a few times that the 1st book has events that happened historically earlierRegardsJohn Paul